Church of Ireland Churches
Roman Catholic Churches
Baptist Tabernacle Castledawson.Road, Bellaghy.
The Baptist Church in Bellaghy was founded around 1938 and meetings
were originally held in a portable hall on the site of the Church. The hall was known as the McBride Baptist Hall (from the
surname of the founder)
The present Church was built in 1966.
The Gospel Hall Main Street, Bellaghy.
The first meetings were held around 1919 in a house on the Toomebridge
Road. In 1922 the meetings moved to a loft at Ballyscullion Road.
A new hall was built in its present location in 1932, and renovated
and enlarged in 1968.
Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Castledawson.
The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built in 1829.and stands on the highest
part of Castledawson in the Parish of Magherafelt.
Some time before 1974 the church closed and in that year the building was
bought by the Parish Church (Christ Church).
The building is currently used as a base for a Senior Citizens
Club and Castledawson Youth Centre.
Wesleyan Methodist Church, Bellaghy
This building was the old 'Malt House' and in 1820 the Methodist Church
in Bellaghy first used it as their place of worship.
The building, which was thatched at the time was also used as a School
House on five days of the week. The school was known as the 'Bellaghy Wesleyan Mission School'.
For a time (from 1825) the Methodists shared the building with the Seceding
Church (See below).
The Methodist Church closed in 1953 and the building was bought by Bellaghy
Church of Ireland and is currently used as a Church Hall.
Methodist Church, Knockloughrim.
Details to follow.
Seceding Meeting House, Bellaghy
This building was once a 'Malt House' and from 1820 until 1953
was used as a Methodist Church. (See above)
In 1825 the 'Seceders' also used part of the building as a meeting
house. This was a branch of the Presbyterian Church which temorarily broke away from the main Church and became the forerunner
for the present Presbyterian Church in Bellaghy, which can be seen to the left of the picture.. (see First Bellaghy
In 1953 the building was bought by Bellaghy Church of Ireland and
is currently used as a Church Hall.
The Seceding congregation was a branch of the Presbyterian
Church which temorarily broke away from the main Church. In 1836 a Seceding congregation was established in Curran
and they met in a private barn and became the forerunner for the present Curran Presbyterian Church. (see Curran Presbyterian